DROZlegal / Blog / Filevine for Ontario PI Firms

Filevine for Ontario PI Firms: What Its Pages Say (and Don’t) (2026)

Filevine’s homepage links a “Filevine CA” login, yet the homepage, security page and sub-processor page we read on October 22, 2026 never say where Canadian client data is stored. The sub-processor page lists about 50 vendors, including AI companies, by corporate address, and none of those addresses is in Canada. A Canadian login is not a hosting commitment, so put the question in writing.

Disclosure: this article is written and published by DROZlegal, which competes in adjacent territory. Every claim about Filevine comes from three filevine.com pages read on October 22, 2026, and is attributed to them. “Not stated” means the page was silent, not that the answer is no. We did not demo the product or see a contract, and we could not load Filevine’s personal injury page (it returned an error), so nothing here comes from it. This article is general information, not legal advice, and reflects publicly available information as of October 22, 2026.

What Filevine’s own pages say

Question What the pages say
Personal injury The homepage lists “Personal Injury” among its law-firm practice areas, alongside mass torts and insurance defence.
AI (LOIS) LOIS is described as a “Legal Operating Intelligence System.” The homepage says “LOIS Console runs AI agents across every matter in your firm” and that it can set tasks, move deadlines and generate documents, with each action traceable to its source. Other named products include AI Drafting, LOIS Legal Research and MedChron. The homepage quotes performance percentages with no stated methodology, so we do not repeat them.
Canada The only Canadian signal is a “Filevine CA” login link (identity.filevine.ca) next to a “Filevine US” one. No page we read mentions Canada, Ontario or Canadian customers in its text.
Hosting The security page says Filevine contracts its own instances within “private AWS, Microsoft Azure, and Google cloud platform” and that “we do not operate or manage our own data centers.” Backups run in “multiple AWS regions.” No region or country is named for primary data or backups.
Data residency Not addressed on the security page or in the sub-processor page’s text. There are no stated residency options.
Sub-processors The page lists about 50 vendors “used to process personal data used in the Cloud Services,” with a corporate address for each: almost all in the United States, a few in the United Kingdom and France. It names AI companies including Anthropic, OpenAI and X.AI. A corporate address is not a processing location, and the page gives no data-location statement.
Training and retention Whether customer data trains any model, and how long AI inputs and outputs are kept: not stated on these pages.
Certifications The security page lists several compliance programs and says some are still in progress; it contradicts itself in places on one of them. We do not republish any of them. Ask for the current documents, not the web copy.
Trust money Not stated in the pages read.
Pricing No prices on the homepage. It offers a free LOIS trial (“no credit card required”) and a demo, and links to a separate pricing page we did not read.

Sources, all read October 22, 2026: filevine.com, filevine.com/security and filevine.com/subprocessors. None shows a publication or update date.

Five questions to put to Filevine

  1. What does “Filevine CA” actually change? Ask whether it means Canadian hosting of primary data and backups, or only a separate login, and get the answer in the contract.
  2. In which country and region is our data stored, and our backups? The security page names providers and says “multiple AWS regions,” not places.
  3. Where is case text processed when LOIS agents run, and by which AI vendors? Ask which of the listed AI sub-processors would ever see our files, and under what terms.
  4. Is our data used for training, and how long is it retained, in which logs? Get both answers in the data-processing terms, not on a sales call.
  5. How does it handle client trust funds for an Ontario licensee, and Ontario accident-benefits and limitation deadlines? Ontario firms report under Law Society By-Law 9; see our guide to trust accounting software for Ontario firms. Ask for a demonstration on a sample file, not a feature list.

If the answers are specific, Filevine may suit a firm. If they are vague, that is the finding. For the wider field, see our personal injury practice management software guide for Ontario, the broader Filevine alternative comparison, the Neos read, the Litify read, the CASEpeer and SmartAdvocate read, and the data-residency comparison.

Newsletter

Worth five minutes a month.

Short, practical notes on practice automation and Ontario trust-accounting compliance — skippable, but most readers don't.

Get started

Built for Ontario practice, not adapted to it.

See how DROZlegal approaches Ontario trust accounting and litigation workflows, then compare the answers against whatever you are evaluating.

Free: the complete guide to AI for Canadian law firms → Lawyer AI Academy