DROZlegal / Blog / CASEpeer and SmartAdvocate for Ontario PI Firms

CASEpeer and SmartAdvocate for Ontario PI Firms: What Each Page Says (2026)

Neither CASEpeer nor SmartAdvocate says anything about Canada on its homepage as read on October 16, 2026. CASEpeer's page describes “IOLTA-compliant payment processing,” a U.S. trust-account term, and SmartAdvocate says only that “server and data can be located anywhere.” For an Ontario firm, the open questions are where the data sits and how trust money is handled under Law Society rules.

Disclosure: this article is written and published by DROZlegal, which competes in adjacent territory. Every claim about CASEpeer and SmartAdvocate comes from casepeer.com, smartadvocate.com and the Canadian Lawyer review cited below, read on October 16, 2026, and is attributed to its source. “Not stated” means the page was silent, not that the answer is no. This article is general information, not legal advice, and reflects publicly available information as of October 16, 2026.

What each vendor's own page says

Question CASEpeer (8am) SmartAdvocate
Positioning “A highly-rated practice management solution built specifically for personal injury law firms.” Case management for firms of many practice areas, personal injury among them; web-based.
AI An “8am IQ” writing assistant for case notes, tasks and client messages. Built-in tools that summarize cases, medical records and depositions.
Hosting Not stated on the homepage. A 2024 Canadian Lawyer review says it is “hosted through Amazon Web Services” without naming a region. Cloud-hosted or server-based; the server option says “server and data can be located anywhere.”
Canada or Ontario No product text. The footer says 8am, LLC is an Independent Sales Organization of Fiserv Canada Ltd. Not stated.
Trust money “IOLTA-compliant payment processing,” a U.S. term. Not stated on the homepage.
Pricing Not shown on the homepage. “Based on your firm's needs” (quote).

Sources: casepeer.com and smartadvocate.com, read October 16, 2026; Canadian Lawyer, CASEpeer review, June 27, 2024, which the magazine's own page presents as a vendor profile rather than independent testing.

Five questions to put to either vendor

  1. Where is our data stored, by region, and can we require Canada in the contract? Neither homepage answers this.
  2. How are client trust funds handled for an Ontario licensee? Ontario firms report under Law Society By-Law 9, not IOLTA. See our guide to trust accounting software for Ontario firms.
  3. Does the AI send our case text to a third-party model, and where is it processed? Ask for the sub-processor list in writing. Our data-residency comparison shows what to request.
  4. Can the system track Ontario accident-benefits and limitation deadlines? Ask for a demonstration on a sample file, not a feature list.
  5. What does exit look like? Ask for the export format for documents, notes and ledgers.

If the answers are good, either platform may suit a firm. If they are vague, that is the finding. For the wider field of options, see our personal injury practice management software guide for Ontario, and the Smokeball and MyCase comparisons.

Newsletter

Worth five minutes a month.

Short, practical notes on practice automation and Ontario trust-accounting compliance — skippable, but most readers don't.

Get started

Built for Ontario practice, not adapted to it.

See how DROZlegal approaches Ontario trust accounting and litigation workflows, then compare the answers against whatever you are evaluating.

Free: the complete guide to AI for Canadian law firms → Lawyer AI Academy